Gambling coffeeMy neighbour is calling me from his roof. I enter his house from the roof and exit through his front door. I say hi to his dad watching TV in the living room, still centimeters above the water. Today in Cam Chau, Hoi An, the river is connected to roads, gardens, kitchens and toilets due to the third flood this year.

We walk through the water down Tran Quang Khai to a cafe. The gate is shut but I see four men inside playing cards as if the cafe is not flooded. The loser will pay for everyone’s coffee, says the owner’s daughter. Her feet are splashing the water the colour of my caphe sua da.

We make our way back and I climb back onto the roof. My neighbour tells me I can come over to his house for dinner. Just come on the roof, he says, and shows me the safe part of the roof for me to walk on.

